France
flag msg tools
badge
My avatar is from the chilren's game Monster Mash
mbmbmbmbmb

(photo by Zman)

Previously entitled: "Small, pretty and fun"

Disclaimer

Ok, just so you know where I come from and how the review will go. I'll start by an introduction so you know how I came to know the game and what my expectations of it were, then a little summary of how the game plays and what it looks like, you can skip that part if you're already familiar with it and the rules as I won't go much into detail here. I'll finish by my own opinion and my rating of the game. After that, I'll summarize what my playing group feels about the game.

About me, I started playing and fell in love with heavy games (Serenissima and Caylus). I began to play lighter games later like Odin's Ravens and Kahuna. I like mostly all types of games though I like when these are tense. I also usually don't like heavily luck-dependent games.
My favourites are Through The Ages, Race For The Galaxy, Imperial, Caylus, Dungeon Twister, Monster Mash.
Games I didn't like: Pillars of the Earth, Mykerinos, Caylus Magna Carta, Aton.

Introduction

I first heard of the game one or two years ago, back when the only thing we knew about the game was that it was a card game about politics in an italian renaissance setting. Since then, I've been actively following the game. First came the photos (which made me salivate, then I started to know how the game played and was still interested, finally, first reviews came in and sold me.

I bought the game for my birthday (may 2009) and played 14 times since then.

My expectations were very high until the gameplay was known. Once I knew how the game played and it became apparent that the game was playable with a standard deck of cards, I was less eager to try it out but still pretty much interested.

What is the game about