Hoc Spatium Mercede
This is another fine mess you've gotten us into.
Firstly, it's important to remember that the Naalu must still obey the remaining rules of retreating: it must be into a space they already control, and it requires a Command Counter from their Strategy Allocation Area.
These two requirements are do not always apply. If there is a system already activated a retreat will not cost the Naalu a command counter from their strategy allocation area. If they are using a tactical retreat and spend the CC from their strategic allocation, then the system they retreat into does not need to have been previously activated.