Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cutthroat Caverns: Deeper & Darker» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ogre's Challenge and abilities/action cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
viktor markuljan
Croatia
flag msg tools
When playing Ogre's Challenge, if a player goes over the Ogre's score, the player is hit for 40 damage. Is it possible to save the player by using an ability (e.g. Talon's damage preventer)?

Also, can the player that is going to be damaged use cards like 'My Hero' or 'Human Shield' to avoid getting hit?

And what happens to each player's hand in this encounter? It's not mentioned anywhere that players are supposed to discard their entire hand when entering the Ogre's Challenge, so we allowed them to keep their hand and play action cards, if any.

Also, what if two players manage to get an even score, do they both get prestige for the Ogre?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Covert
United States
Sandy Hook
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kolja13 wrote:
When playing Ogre's Challenge, if a player goes over the Ogre's score, the player is hit for 40 damage. Is it possible to save the player by using an ability (e.g. Talon's damage preventer)?

Also, can the player that is going to be damaged use cards like 'My Hero' or 'Human Shield' to avoid getting hit?

And what happens to each player's hand in this encounter? It's not mentioned anywhere that players are supposed to discard their entire hand when entering the Ogre's Challenge, so we allowed them to keep their hand and play action cards, if any.

Also, what if two players manage to get an even score, do they both get prestige for the Ogre?


From the creator:

Ogre's Challenge is a "Non-Combat encounter". Things operate differently. Players have the option to "Fold" immediately. This gamble does not have to be taken and is completely optional. So, no, if you decide to gamble and lose, you will take the punishing outcome without the ability to 'cheat' your way out of it.

Your current hand is not used. You need not discard it, but at the beginning of the next encounter you may do so per the basic game rules. You may only use the cards dealt per the encounter and only in the manner described on the encounter card.

A tie would award both players the Prestige.

Thanks for the questions.
-Curt

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
viktor markuljan
Croatia
flag msg tools
Thanks, that explains everything!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rico Amaral
Canada
Cole Harbour
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. You saved my Dwarf.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.