Popular Tags: [View All]
William Jason Raynovich
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all,
Ben, thank you for a great game. Thank you for answering questions. You are to be commended.

Brett, who hosted the Ventrilo session for GMT, looked in on a game I was playing with someone on VASSAL. I have played maybe 8 games of this now. So, I am not an expert, but damn. We still got significant rules wrong. What we got wrong which may help those of you out there who are learning the game on your own. Oh yeah, THANKS Brett!

1: Light Infantry can ONLY attack other Light Infantry. Of course this begs to ask, why did the chart at least in TACW have a line for LI attacking Cavalry and HI? (11,6)

2: Hedges block LOS to beyond one hex. This does NOT work like walls in ASL. In the games I have played, if you are in a hex against a terrain feature. You can be seen in the terrain, but not beyond it. Here, you have to get right on top of the other unit to see it. (ie you have to be one hex away.) Then you can both see each other. So, the entire left half of the Royalist in Marston Moor are not seen. Tis true. (14.4) Hedges work like walls in ASL. If a unit is adjacent to the hedge, then someone can see them from more than one hex away.

3: Gentle slopes do NOT cause a formation hit. Well, unless you go over two in a turn. So, yes, in Marston Moor you do not have to start Open Order.

4: HI get a free wheeling if a Cav unit enters a rear hex. Yes, they do this BEFORE having to potentially roll for hedgehog. Gosh, it is harder to make a unit Hedgehogged now. They can even go backwards to do this. (This is still unclear to me.)

4: This now seen as wrong. It is interesting how many rules we can get wrong. HI do NOT get a freewheel if a Cav unit enters a rear hex. HI units CANNOT wheel backwards.

5: The tables are different for Heavy infantry Salvo fire from the TACW and the newest version of the rules.