Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Memoir '44: Campaign Book Volume 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Smolensk victory conditions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrzej Sieradzki
Poland
Opole
flag msg tools
badge
We don't stop playing when we get old, but we get old when we stop playing.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The campaign diagram states that Axis player should get 2 more medals then the Soviet one to win the scenario. But the scenario conditions are weird, a bit. Axis medals: 7, Soviets: 5. While playing the scenario the Axis player got 6 medals, but the Soviets got 5 (reached their medal victory conditions). We decided that the Soviets won. Were we right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Taylor-Smith
Canada
Okotoks
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the Soviets won.

The Campaign diagram just restates the scenario victory conditions. The isn't a way for the Axis to win without being ahead by two medals. Just being ahead in medals doesn't equal a scenario win, it's all about the victory conditions. Although the actual number of medals gained does help for the final Campaign victory. Thus in your example while the Soviet won the scenario they are losing in the Campaign point account 6 to 5. A Pyrrhic victory for the Soviets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Sieradzki
Poland
Opole
flag msg tools
badge
We don't stop playing when we get old, but we get old when we stop playing.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeap. Thanks Robert. That hadn't been a satisfying victory for the Soviets indeed, although it diverted the campaign "away" from "Kamenewo", which battle would have helped the Axis to knock at the "Gates of Moscow"...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.