Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Kneeling Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Colin Houghton
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the game (well.. I've had it a while but haven't had a chance to play it much!) and have a question onb when character cards must be knelt.

Is it when a character initiates or responds to a challenge, and if you use an ability on the card that says "kneel" ? Are there other actions that require a card to be knelt where it doesn't say kneel on the card?

It came out when someone said that you couldn't use the response:save text on Ser Davos Seaworth if he was kneeling.

Many thanks in anticipation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan McCullough
United States
Germantown
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe responses can be played at any time (much like an event card that has Response on it) without kneeling. There are characters that say 'response: when xx dies, do yy' So if that character is killed then do the effect.

edit: clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Zembrzuski
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
During the Challenge phase the attacker kneels characters he is declaring as attackers for the challenge type. i.e. military, power or intrigue. The defender kneels characters he is declaring as defenders for the challenge type.

Note that some cards may have text saying a character doesn't have to kneel to initiate a certain type of challenge.


Ser Davos Seaworth doesn't require you to kneel him as a cost in order to save him so it doesn't matter if he is already knelt or not. If it said 'kneel Ser Davos Seaworth TO save him" and he was already knelt then you couldn't but that is not the case here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Stone
United States
Dallas
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IOW your friend was wrong. The rules specifically only site two instances were you are required to kneel a card, when attacking or defending. Every other instance where it is required will state so on the card itself, just as it will state on the card if it defies the rules and does not have to kneel to attack or defend.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Houghton
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks everyone.. that makes it crystal clear to me!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ergo Proxy
Portugal
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So when characters like for example

JOFFREY BARATHEON that has the response ability "After a Lord or Lady character is killed, joffrey baratheon claims 1 power (limit 3 times per round)" even if he is kneeled he still can use this ability, correct? this applies to all characters that don't especify "Kneel to"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Zembrzuski
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ergo Proxy wrote:
So when characters like for example

JOFFREY BARATHEON that has the response ability "After a Lord or Lady character is killed, joffrey baratheon claims 1 power (limit 3 times per round)" even if he is kneeled he still can use this ability, correct? this applies to all characters that don't especify "Kneel to"?


Correct. From page 13 in the rulebook "Only cards that are standing may be used for actions that require kneeling; you cannot, for example, challenge with an already kneeling character." Further, page 22 reads "(responses do not count as actions)"

So his response is neither an "action" nor requires him to kneel to claim a power.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ergo Proxy
Portugal
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's it! Thank you! laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.