Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Asia Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Capturing ports rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kasper Kuusisto
Finland
flag msg tools
How do I capture a port?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Luta
United States
Henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Whichever side controls the area the port is in, controls the port...There is actually a note in the rules that both sides control the port in a contested area for supply purposes, but I cannot see how this makes any difference, since supply to a coastline is just as good as one cannot trace inland through an area the other side controls anyway. So, for any purposes I can figure out, port control goes with area control.

As a side note, it is possible to attack enemy LBA twice in a port area during one's turn. First, conduct a port attack by air, and the enemy air has to fly CAP. Then, during combat, make an attack and put your air in the 'dogfight' allocation box.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kasper Kuusisto
Finland
flag msg tools
Our game stopped when allied player had fleet on land area and Japan had some infantry trying to capture it. Is it possible?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Foley
United States
Warren
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dear Kasper, sorry to hear that your game stopped. Unfortunately, you may have looked in the supply rules and the combat rules (various sections) and did not come across rule 5.46 (where the answer is).

When the Japanese infantry moved into the area with the port that contained the Allied fleet, the area switched control from Allied to Japanese. Therefore, the area (and the port in that area) are now "enemy-controlled". Since the fleet found itself alone in the area with this switch in control, 5.46 indicates what you have to do: either voluntarily destroy the fleet or move the fleet (if possible) into the directly adjacent sea-zone (as long as no enemy fleets are there).

By moving to the sea-zone (if not otherwise destroyed by rule 5.46), then the fleet will be able to attempt to rebase during the Rebasing phase that follows the Ground Combat phase.

Again, very sorry to hear of your difficulty with this.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kasper Kuusisto
Finland
flag msg tools
Well, it was training game and we didnt quite understand all the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.