Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Closing Gates? Playing right now... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jay Thomas
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When making a "Lore or Fight" check to close gates...

Is "Fight" the same as "Combat"?

Do we use modifiers?
Some modifiers say "fight" vs "combat"... are we using some, all or none?

Thanks,

J.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Diogo Poupado
Portugal
Ourém
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fight and combat are two different things. Fight is just your basic value from the Investigator sheet and so is Lore. Combat is a bonus added to the Fight value, and it doesn't enter in the amount of dice you roll when closing a gate. Just look at your current Fight value, and apply it (remember to look at the Gate modifier to know how many roll dice you roll).

Hope I answered it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Combat is a sub check of Fight. Fight is the base skill you use in a Combat Check. Take your Fight skill, add all appropriate Fight modifiers, then add all appropriate Combat modifiers, and that's your Combat Check.

Fight checks do not include Combat modifiers. You take your Fight skill plus any items/skills that add to Fight (not to Combat) to determine how many dice to roll.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Davis
United States
New Concord
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thematically, you're using your physical strength to close the gate, but that flaming sword isn't going to help you. That only comes in handy for chopping nasty things in half. Hence it works for combat checks only, not fight checks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Watkins
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's true, gates love bullets from tommy guns = (
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob T
United States
Mantua (near Woodbury)
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But you CAN use +1 Fight or +1 Lore Skills....just no weapons
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Diogo Poupado
Portugal
Ourém
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, sure. All that adds to Fight/Lore is welcome when closing a Gate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/470894/how-we-play-movement-...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.