Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

7 Ages» Forums » Rules

Subject: Administrators rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chaim Kaufmann
United States
Bethlehem
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Can an Administrator reduce non-infantry unit costs to as low as 1 even if the empire has no capital?

This matters mainly for the initial builds of Normans (William, missile and cav = 2) who could, if this is allowed, start with units worth up to 52 and for Ottomans (Suleiman, initial cav = 2) who could start with up 55.

If this is not the intent, should we read the words "reduces the cost of all its new units, except infantry, by 1" (p. 17) as meaning "reduces unit costs by 1, but not below 2 per unit?"

We would then also read "If the administrator is in its capital, then infantry costs are also reduced by 1" as something like "If the administrator is in its capital, then costs can be reduced to as low as 1 per unit."

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The short answer to your question is yes.

So if your cost is already less than the "normal" price it still reduces it by 1 (min 1). Your real limit is counter mix. You can't buy 52 cav, because there are not that many. With Concentrated Ownership the price goes +1 and with Admin -1. As long as you don't reduce price to 0 you just add up all modifiers. Rules under Production say minimum price for any unit is 1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Peters
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ck07 wrote:
Can an Administrator reduce non-infantry unit costs to as low as 1 even if the empire has no capital?

Yes.
Quote:
This matters mainly for the initial builds of Normans (William, missile and cav = 2) who could, if this is allowed, start with units worth up to 52 and for Ottomans (Suleiman, initial cav = 2) who could start with up 55.

I don't know what you mean by "worth up to 52". But yes, when you apply William's talents, all initial Norman land units end up costing only 1 money each.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaim Kaufmann
United States
Bethlehem
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Thanks.

Not sure I like this one. It will produce huge forces for Normans, Ottomans, and Mughals--out of scale with everyone else.

CK
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First of all you have to do it in the right Age (so that you can get the leader at set-up) and most importantly you are limited by the counter mix (Light Grey has the most Cav at 10). Typically I don't find that starting with a huge number of units is a huge advantage (although they are nice), you will probably have to Manouver twice before you can do any more growth (Production) because you won't be able to support the units. Basically it kick starts the empire, but so does getting a Manouver after set-up (or two).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.