Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Expansion game Balrog rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the fellowship is already in Moria on its revealed side, what does happen if the Shadow musters the Balrog ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Fling
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing. Until the FSP is moved.

When the FSP moves out of Moria due to being declared the SP will draw one hunt tile for the Balrog (reveal icon on the tile will not count).

When the FSP moves out of Moria due to being revealed the SP will draw two hunt tiles. First for the Balrog, second for the SH.

**Note that when drawing tiles for the Balrog on an eye result the Balrog and the guide are eliminated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Wojtaszcyk
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I feel the FP want the Balrog in play.

1. It moves the North, Dwarves and Elves one closer to War. That's 3 dice worth of mustering the FP do not have to spend. It really messes with the Iron Hills, since taking that settlement before Erebor pushes the Dwarves to war before under seige so they have a chance at mustering an elite.

2. Extra hunt tile draws early gives more chances at drawing Smeagol while he still could be a 2 or 3 level value.

3. An eye result kills the Balrog and the extra die for the SP and gets one reveal eye out of the early hunt pool, for just the cost of the guide. Even if the guide is Gandalf, he is now out of the FSP and ready to become Gandalf the White.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miikka Sohlman
Finland
Lahti
flag msg tools
I live in the city of Gulf, on the shores of Lake Water. This fun fact has nothing to do with this badge you're pointing at.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joefling34 wrote:
...SP will draw two hunt tiles. First for the Balrog, second for the SH.

Btw, does the SP choose the drawing order or is there some official sequence somewhere?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's in the Appendix for the Twilight of the Third Age rulebook, Revised Rules for War of the Ring. The use of the rules in it is "strongly advised", whether playing the base game or the expansion.

Quote:
When the Fellowship is revealed, if the Free Peoples player is forced to draw multiple Hunt tiles because of Shadow Stronghold presence, events, and abilities, each tile effect is resolved completely before applying the following tile effect: First resolve the effect of the tile that caused the Fellowship to be revealed, then resolved all tiles related to events and abilities, then, lastly, resolve the tile drawn due to the Shadow Stronghold.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miikka Sohlman
Finland
Lahti
flag msg tools
I live in the city of Gulf, on the shores of Lake Water. This fun fact has nothing to do with this badge you're pointing at.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, so there IS a sequence. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.