Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Space Hulk (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: a couple of questions about the rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
arjan van etten
msg tools
I have a couple of questions about the rules.


1 Can a space marine shoot a flame in the same sections he is in ? In that way he will sacrifice himself but I think in some situations it can be usefull as a last resort.

2 Can a space marine unjam and then immediatly shoot in overwatch or can he shoot after the next genestealer action ?

3 If a space marine is in overwatch and is attacked in close assault can he shoot in overwatch behore the close assault is resolved ? (close assault is an action that's why).

4 If a space marine is attacked in close assault can he spent command points before the close assault is resolved ?

5 If space marine a is attacked in close assault and the attacking genestealer is in line of sight of another space marine (space marine b) who is in overwatch can the space marine shoot in overwatch before the close assault is resolved ? Before means that if space marine b (the space marine in overwatch) hits then the close assault on space marine a is not resolved.
6 If space marine is attacked in close assault and the attacking genestealer is in line of sight of another space marine can the other space marine spent command points before the close assault is resolved ?

Thank you for answering !!!


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Corn
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Soon you'll be wearing my sword like a shish kebab!
badge
How appropriate. You fight like a cow.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Space marine wrote:

1 Can a space marine shoot a flame in the same sections he is in ? In that way he will sacrifice himself but I think in some situations it can be usefull as a last resort.
Yes. However, he has to have a target square available (if he's on the edge of the tile facing away from the tile, he can't flame his own square -- it's not a self-destruct).
Space marine wrote:
2 Can a space marine unjam and then immediatly shoot in overwatch or can he shoot after the next genestealer action ?
No to the first part. The decision to spend command points occurs immediately after the Genestealer action is resolved. Each Space Marine can only take one action in response to one Genestealer action -- the 'unjam' action means he has to wait until the Genestealer does something again.
Space marine wrote:
3 If a space marine is in overwatch and is attacked in close assault can he shoot in overwatch behore the close assault is resolved ? (close assault is an action that's why).
4 If a space marine is attacked in close assault can he spent command points before the close assault is resolved ?
5 If space marine a is attacked in close assault and the attacking genestealer is in line of sight of another space marine (space marine b) who is in overwatch can the space marine shoot in overwatch before the close assault is resolved ? Before means that if space marine b (the space marine in overwatch) hits then the close assault on space marine a is not resolved.
6 If space marine is attacked in close assault and the attacking genestealer is in line of sight of another space marine can the other space marine spent command points before the close assault is resolved ?
No. You can't interrupt actions -- overwatch/command point spending happens after the triggering action is resolved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. There is no hard and fast rule that says a flamer cannot do a sacrifice move like that. In fact, in 1st Ed, if the flamer had at least one ammo left, he could sacrifice himself and self-destruct his flamer, auto-killing all units in the board section he was in. There has been discussion as to whether a flamer can target a tile that has a fellow marine on said tile (i.e. some feel it should not be allowed), and following that logic, then no, you would not be able to flame the same tile as the flamer. But RAW does not disallow it and I personally like it, a rather selfless heroic act IMHO

2. The FAQ clears that up, he does not get an Overwatch Shot the same turn he clears his jam.

3. No, Overwatch fire after the action happens, and if the marine is attacked, he loses his overwatch.

4. Same as 3, CPs happen after the action takes place, but they DO happen. If the marine survives, you can spend CPs on that marine (often times to go back into overwatch, or go on guard).

5. Again, same as 3, the overwatch marine does get to fire, but after the close assault is resolved.

6. Same as 3 again. CPs can be spent on the other marine (and that marine does not have to have LOS to the stealer) but after the close assault is resolved.

HTH,

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Genestealer Patriarch
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Space marine wrote:
1 Can a space marine shoot a flame in the same sections he is in ? In that way he will sacrifice himself but I think in some situations it can be usefull as a last resort.

Yes. The marine dies on a 2+ though.
Space marine wrote:
2 Can a space marine unjam and then immediatly shoot in overwatch or can he shoot after the next genestealer action ?

No. He unjams with 1 CP in reaction to a genestealer action. He only gets another overwatch shot if he sees a stealer take another action.
Space marine wrote:
3 If a space marine is in overwatch and is attacked in close assault can he shoot in overwatch behore the close assault is resolved ? (close assault is an action that's why).
Not once the stealer has spent the AP to attack him. The stealer lways gets to complete its action. The marine loses overwatch. Any other marines with LOS take an overwatch shot after the action is resolved.
Space marine wrote:
4 If a space marine is attacked in close assault can he spent command points before the close assault is resolved ?

No, as above once the stealer has started the close combat action, it gets to complete it. If the marine survives (e.g. it's a draw) he can then spend a CP to shoot the stealer.
Space marine wrote:
5 If space marine a is attacked in close assault and the attacking genestealer is in line of sight of another space marine (space marine b) who is in overwatch can the space marine shoot in overwatch before the close assault is resolved ? Before means that if space marine b (the space marine in overwatch) hits then the close assault on space marine a is not resolved.
No, the stealer gets to complete its attack first, then the other marine gets to fire. When taking a shot in response to a stealer action (either overwatch or spending a CP), the stealer ways gets to finish before the shot.
Space marine wrote:
6 If space marine is attacked in close assault and the attacking genestealer is in line of sight of another space marine can the other space marine spent command points before the close assault is resolved ?
No, as above.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
arjan van etten
msg tools
Thank you for all your answers !!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.