Subject: T&E Online at BGG - Hidden VPs? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim bo
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the game but have read through the rules a couple of times, gleamed some good tips from the forums and have put myself down for an online game at BGG.

Just out of interest, what's the point in having Hidden VPs? Can't anyone simply read through the game log and total up exactly how many VPs each player has in each colour or am I missing something?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marshall P.
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
"Nothing in Biology Makes Sense Except in the Light of Evolution" - Theodosius Dobzhansky
badge
There is grandeur in this view of life, whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been, and are being, evolved.
mbmbmbmbmb
The game log is truncated in hidden VP games. You could keep a side record as the game goes along. I've played over 200 hidden VP games and I've never done it. It's just not worth the effort. It's not life or death. And I don't like to have the knowledge of other player's scores influencing my decisions.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Same as in a real life F2F game. Yes, you could track each cube your opponents gather but the likelihood is you will not be as precise and the amount of effort to be precise would significantly detract from your game play.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim bo
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure but at least in F2F games you can make an agreement with the other players not to keep a physical record and you can quite clearly see if anyone starts writing down notes on a piece of paper, mobile phone or whatever.