Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Carryover to supplemental buy(s) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim W
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Looked in the FAQ and this forum but could not find the answer (I am sure I simply missed it somewhere).

If you have +1 buy and a 2 Gold, can you buy two cards, one costing 4 and one costing 2?

... or are you relagated to buying 1 card at a time, such that if you were to buy a card for 4 using the 2 Gold in the first buy phase, you dont have any coins left for buy #2.

Thanks in advance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Carter
United States
Longwood
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, that's perfectly legal. You get to pool all of your money together to make your buys.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Weeks
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Once you've played all your actions simply add up all the treasure from the played actions and the treasure from your hand (copper, silver, gold)

2. If you have more than 1 buy then the total cost of the cards you are buying must be equal to or less than the treasure you added together in #1

So if you had 11 treasure and 2 buys then you could purchase 1 province and 1 silver.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
There is only one Buy Phase. +Buys allow you to buy multiple times in that Buy Phase; they don't create additional Buy Phases. (Black Market, of course, is just weird.)

Don't think of it as spending Treasure cards directly to buy more cards. Think of it as using Treasure to increase your total buying power, and then spending your total buying power to buy more cards. That's why 2 Gold can buy you a 4 and a 2 if you have the second Buy.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In fact, if you add in the black market promo card (Which lets you buy 1 card during the action phase), you can play a gold to buy a moat, and the leftover 1 coin will still be waiting for you when you get to the buy phase.

Basically, you can play a treasure card whenever it's appropriate to do so. (Usually just during the buy phase, but also when you play black market.) When you play a treasure, you get the listed number of coins until you spend them or the end of your turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt N

Pennsylvania
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you get "change" back. This is the opposite of games like Alhambra.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike D.
United States
Metairie
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played my first game and this was aquestion I had as well. I'm glad I found it so quickly.Thanks for the info.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Valerie Putman
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is in the rules under Buy Phase.

Quote:
If the player has multiple Buys, he combines Treasure cards and any coins available from Action cards to pay for all of the purchases. For example, if Tyler has +1 Buy and 6 coins provided by two Gold cards, he can buy a Cellar costing 2 and put it face-up in his Discard pile. Then Tyler can buy a Smithy with the remaining 4 coins and place that face-up in his Discard pile, as well.



You play all of the treasures you want to play from your hand to your play area and then you make all of your buys. You don't pay for each buy separately.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Knutsen
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Boxatoys wrote:
1. Once you've played all your actions simply add up all the treasure from the played actions and the treasure from your hand (copper, silver, gold)


This isn't strictly correct. You need to play the treasure cards in order to use them, they can't be in your hand. This is important because of cards like Mint, Grand Market, and several of the treasure cards in Prosperity.

Another important thing: The generating of coins happens when you play the card (either an action or a treasure). What happens afterwards doesn't change that. For example City generates no coins if there are less than two empty supply piles. If you should empty another supply pile while buying, a played City doesn't then generate a coin. (The same applies to the +Card and +Buy of course.) Likewise the Bank generates its coins when played, treasures played afterwards doesn't change the amount. Even if a played treasure gets trashed, the coins it generated that turn is unaltered.

So: After you're done with your actions (and generated x amounts of coins that way), you play all the treasures you want, in order, and thereby generate more coins. Then you do your buys.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.