France
flag msg tools
badge
My avatar is from the chilren's game Monster Mash
mbmbmbmbmb

(photo by ColtsFan76)

Previously entitled: "Take a good game (Caylus) and mess it up (Pillars)"

Disclaimer

Ok, just so you know where I come from and how the review will go. I'll start by an introduction so you know how I came to know the game and what my expectations of it were, then a little summary of how the game plays and what it looks like, you can skip that part if you're already familiar with it and the rules as I won't go much into detail here. I'll finish by my own opinion and my rating of the game. After that, I'll summarize what my playing group feels about the game.

About me, I started playing and fell in love with heavy games (Serenissima and Caylus). I began to play lighter games later like Odin's Ravens and Kahuna. I like mostly all types of games though I like when these are tense. I also usually don't like heavily luck-dependent games.
My favourites are Through The Ages, Race For The Galaxy, Imperial, Caylus, Dungeon Twister, Monster Mash.
Games I didn't like: Pillars of the Earth, Mykerinos, Caylus Magna Carta, Aton.

Introduction

Back when I had only played Settlers, Serenissima and Puerto Rico, I received The Pillars of the earth by my parents for christmas.

I didn't have any à priori before trying this game. I also happened to have it right at the moment when I was introduing all my friends to boardgaming.

Note also that I've played the game only 3 times, but I feel it is enough to tell you what I think of the game.

What is the game about

The game is based on Ken Follet's novel, since I haven't read it, I won't mention it anymore and won't tell you if the game really brings you into the world of the novel or whatnot, because I simply dont know.

The goal of the game (apart from gaining the most victory points) is to build a cathedral.

The game is divided in 6 turns, at the end of which, one part of the cathedral is built.

The finished cathedral