Danny Frahm
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Playing last night I had 2 units jump into close combat against a spent soviet (using CAPS) and thought my chances of hitting were pretty good - I think hit on a 9. Considering my options I thought the +1 to my dice throw was not going to be better than rolling twice against my enemy. Is grouping in this situation mandatory or can I still command them separately.

Playing a couple of solo games were interesting, but not exactly challenging. I was wondering if I'm playing correctly. Now Soviets will just sit there like ducks until you come into range/LOS. This means that my best course of action will be to move all forces on to one target at a time. In firefight 4 I just revealed one at a time and had plenty of time to extinguish each one individually.

What was really weird is revealing a SMG unit which has a range of two. Since he reveals himself at range 3 he couldn't even attack me!? So I just shot him up at range 3.

Am I playing correctly?

[edit] capitalize CAPS
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Pennington
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
If your orange juice doesn't burn on the way down, then you need more vodka!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know about the solo play, but in your first question if you did a group order to the two units moving into the same hex, then they have to attack as a group as well, or at least share the activation points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Frahm
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But I used caps to move them which means neither had been activated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Group fire is never mandatory. If you have already activated both units as a group, then you might as well group fire if you can though, as they're sharing APs.

About that SMG - it's range is 2 but it can fire long-range at 4. I'd have to look at the solo rules again (it's been awhile) but I don't see why they wouldn't just fire at long range.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Frahm
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I forgot about long range >_<

Just to be clear though. The round starts. None of my units are active. I group move two of my units into close combat using CAPS. Is that group now considered activated and must do all following things as a group?

I thought you could move fresh units with CAPS without activating them or grouping them.

My point here is that having one unit fire once with a plus one isn't as good as two units firing once. So grouping in this situation is not preferable.

I'd rather have my units activate seperately.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Pennington
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
If your orange juice doesn't burn on the way down, then you need more vodka!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oh, I missed the CAPs part
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian H
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
I would have attacked separately with each unit via different activations. The +1 you get from the group fire wouldn't offset the two attack rolls in my mind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FinalAttack wrote:
I group move two of my units into close combat using CAPS. Is that group now considered activated and must do all following things as a group?


No, using CAPs does not activate them, so you're still free to activate whatever units you would like.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philipp Schuster
Austria
Innsbruck
Tirol
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to make this clear, group actions are never mandatory.

So if you group activate, both units share 7 AP. Then you do a group move into a hex occupied by an enemy unit for, say, 1 AP. You have 6 AP's left.

Then you can either:

- Attack with only one of the activated units for, say, 4 AP. That would leave both your units down at 2 AP.

- Group attack with both units for 4 AP. Here you get a +1 for group fire. Still, you are down at 2 AP for both of the units.

- Move (or do virtually any other action) with only one or both of your activated units.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.