Popular Tags: [View All]
Betty Dingus
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Two of my friends say they've never been beaten if they use the "go only along the edge" strategy. Is this possible, or can they be foiled?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Dingus wrote:
Two of my friends say they've never been beaten if they use the "go only along the edge" strategy. Is this possible, or can they be foiled?

Obvious question: have these two friends ever played against each other using this strategy? If so: Who won, and which of them is fibbing about never having been beaten?

I'm no expert, but most simple "strategies" like this fall down when either of two things happen: either you don't draw the right tiles, or another player places tiles where you'd like to go. Uptown has always struck me as a game where you sometimes need to suffer a (hopefully) short-term setback to your own position in order to disrupt another player's plans. If your friends have been winning with a fixed strategy, their opponents have probably been a little passive.

I have seen someone try playing along the edge, and for a while it looked wonderful - but then everything fell apart, and I think he ended up in last place.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Betty Dingus
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I played one "edger" yesterday in a four-player game, and she won on the captured pieces tie-breaks (we both had only one area at the end). I tried to block her but she just picked my pieces off, as the edge pieces weren't separating my spread into two islands. It seems like you would have to move into the edge, lay three down, and go out by the third tile, to make a large enough area that they couldn't just pick you off. The other "edger" won easily in a five-player game last week. I will have to pit them against each other posthaste.