Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Adrian
Canada
Edmonton
flag msg tools
badge
mbmb
I've never done one of these before, so, here goes! Enjoy!

Well, we had a friend over just this last weekend who seldom plays games of the "European variety." Too bad for her, my wife and I love board games! We had a captive audience and +1 player. How exciting! Dominion is the game of the month right now, what with it being purchased for me for Christmas by my dearly beloved, Joy.

Here’s something you need to know:
We’ve played a good number of games now; we’ve been able to try out all of the buildings and I’ve been testing out a number of strategies. Regardless, my wife beats me in Dominion. Pretty much every time. Not that it’s a great frustration, but I am perplexed as to how she does it.

So, we sat our friend, Ilsa, down and gave her the rundown of the "ABCs" of Dominion. It appeared to sink in rather well: we still had her attention. Joy and I took to choosing the Kingdom cards this time to save Ilsa from having to make guesses about the relative values and abilities of cards. We typically use a draft technique, trading back and forth for turns. Here’s how the buildings turned out:

Cellar (Joy)
Chapel (James)
Moat (Joy)
Feast (James)
Bureaucrat (Joy)
Market (James)
Festival (Joy)
Council Room (James)
Adventurer (Joy)

From the get go, my desperate plan was to attempt a Chapel strategy, something I devised on my own but was then encouraged through fellow geeks to attempt. The cards looked to support such a strategy this time around.
My characteristic, internal plotting aside, we gave Ilsa one more run over the rules, capitalizing on describing the game according to creative terms (that is to say, "you are building your dominion, and you are most interested in, what? Land, of course!" as opposed to, "you are building your deck; the player with the most points, wins").

Commence game.