Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Stronghold» Forums » Rules

Subject: Where can canons/archers fire? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
james napoli
United States
Westwood
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to be clear, where can:

1. canons fire?
2. catapults fire?
3. archers fire?
4. explanation of the marksman ability(defender action)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Faust
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Cannons can fire to the rampart opposite to the tower and the adjacent ramparts. The barbican Cannon can fire at the ram.
Catapults can fire at a wall connected by paths with their position (one of the catapults has only one wall to fire at).
Goblin archers can fire at walls connected by paths and towers opposite to the rampart (not at the barbican towers).
Marksmen on walls can fire at ramparts connected by paths.
Marksmen on towers can fire as cannons.
The blessing of the marksmen enables all marksmen not engaged in melee combat to fire any rampart on the same castle side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Vetter
Germany
Karlsruhe
flag msg tools
mb
I have to disagree about the cannons. They can fire upon the foreground on their side or the opposite rampart, This is stated in the German manual.

And marksmen on towers cannot fire like cannons. They can only shoot upon the opposite rampart.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos O.
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VeaaC wrote:
And marksmen on towers cannot fire like cannons. They can only shoot upon the opposite rampart.


Any rampart conected by a path is more accurate.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Parrott
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Marksmen in towers can shoot at the rampart opposite the tower OR the two ramparts adjacent to that rampart. They cannot shoot into the foreground (it's not adjacent).

Markesmen blessing allows any non-engaged Marksman on that side of the stronghold to shoot at any rampart on that side, even the foreground

Edit: can't shoot at foregrounds, they are not ramparts. I was thinking of the barbican which is a rampart, but I'm not sure if it's considered to be on both sides of the stronghold or neither for this purpose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Abel
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb
cparrott wrote:
Markesmen blessing allows any non-engaged Marksman on that side of the stronghold to shoot at any rampart on that side, even the foreground.


Where do you see this?

The foreground is not a rampart. The text for Blessing says "any Rampart", nothing about the foreground.

Cannons can reach the foreground, marksmen can't.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.