Dave
United States
Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello everyone,
This is my first time writing a game review so I'm not entirely sure what the outcome will be, but I hope that it helps at least one person decide whether or not to buy the game. I won't spend any time on explaining how the game is played since that has been done more times than I can count. I'd be happy to answer any specific questions afterwards.

Some History:
I'm fairly new to the boardgaming hobby, having only really started playing 'proper' games in November. As a child I had played the mainstream 'classics' like Monopoly and others quite a bit, but I never really had fun with it. My first foray into the hobby was with the Catan Card Game, and from there my primary gaming partner (my girlfriend) and I wanted to expand our collection with something less reliant on dice. We picked up Carcassonne and Dominion, which we both enjoyed quite a bit more than the Catan Card Game, and from there have continued to expand our collection here and there when it feels appropriate.

The first worker-placement game either of us had played was Agricola, which I absolutely love. While my girlfriend wasn't particularly fond of it, she really liked some of the mechanics and the complexity of the game. For me, this game taught me the types of games I would really enjoy, and I immediately went out looking for more.

Le Havre caught my eye almost as soon as I started playing Agricola, but I was hesitant to pick it up due to 1) The newness of Agricola, and 2) how my girlfriend didn't seem very fond of it. I figured that if I want my girlfriend to keep playing games with me, I shouldn't keep making her play games of the same type that she doesn't like. However, after thinking about it for about a month, and reading up on the differences between Agricola and Le Havre, I decided to take the plunge and pick it up.