Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Cutthroat Caverns: Tombs & Tomes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gaining Loki's Favor rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy Wolf
msg tools
Would the following two situations be worthy of gaining a point for Loki's favor?

1) A player using Tougher Than He Looks/Not So Tough on the player before them to set themselves up for a kill with their attack that is next in initiative.
2) Using Twist the Knife to successfully get credit for a monster kill.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Covert
United States
Sandy Hook
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the creator:

Check the back of the Loki's Favor Tracker. It has guidelines and examples to determine what actions might qualify.

Specifically to your questions though...
1. This is the first example listed on the sheet. I'll quote it directly.

Tougher than he Looks / Not so Tough:
• Playing this card to make someone else’s attack do more damage is NOT a direct negative effect on that player, even if it sets up a kill for the Player who played the card. Arguments that ‘playing the card is negative because it lowers the chance of the targeted Player getting the kill later’ are not sufficient.

(by the same logic, boosting your own attack doesn't count even though it might mean someone else doesn't get the chance to attack. You haven't done anything negative directly to anyone.)

• However, playing this card to make someone else’s attack do more damage when an Encounter targets it’s attacks based on ‘the most damage done’ IS a direct negative effect because it places the affected character in danger of being hit. (This same reasoning applies to Twist with a Knife and Rally)

• Playing this card to make someone else’s attack do less damage IS a direct negative effect if the targeted player considers it unwanted. (This is true of ‘Crowd’ as well)

• If playing this card to make someone else’s attack do less damage would rob a player of a kill by making the attack no longer lethal, that IS a direct negative effect. The same is true if playing the card would make the targeted player a target for attack by a creature.


--------------------

2. Twisting the knife to score a kill for yourself does not qualify. You didn't do something 'unwanted' directly to another player. An exception is the manner listed above.

-Curt
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.