Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Nexus Ops» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using Energize Cards when you are not the Attacker or Defender rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Calixtus Ashley Wee
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
To use Energize Cards in a battle where you are not the Attacker or Defender, am I right to say you still need to have at least one of your units in the contested hex?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Calixtus wrote:
To use Energize Cards in a battle where you are not the Attacker or Defender, am I right to say you still need to have at least one of your units in the contested hex?


I don't have the rules in front of me, but I'm pretty sure they say that you can use them at any time unless the card states otherwise (i.e. says that you must be the attacker or defender).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, and you don't even have to be there if it doesn't. A fun one to play sometimes is "Critical Objective", forcing a second round of combat, useful if you want both sides to clobber each other and make it easier for you to take over!
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Calixtus Ashley Wee
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
So what's the official ruling again? I don't need a piece on the contested hex to use my Energize Cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. Unless the card SPECIFICALLY SAYS you have to be in the battle, or that it affects "your units", you can play them even during someone else's battle.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Thomas
United States
Coshocton
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
Correct, and you don't even have to be there if it doesn't. A fun one to play sometimes is "Critical Objective", forcing a second round of combat, useful if you want both sides to clobber each other and make it easier for you to take over!


Someone did that just last night! I was being attack and they other player, who wasn't attacking, play that card so we fight again!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan W
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can see it playing well if you are playing as a team otherwise it seems Munchkin-esque.

So I imagine if you are not playing as a team you would state which battle participant your Energize Card will benefit?

For Example: Outflank - Choose up to 2 units in the same space. Add +2 to each of those unit's die rolls this battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty much. Also if a card affects a specific unit you choose which one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick G.
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does your religion have lightsabers? Nope? Didn't think so.
badge
"A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals." Agent K. Oh my what he would think of people had he known about what the internet would become.....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Uneyed wrote:
I can see it playing well if you are playing as a team otherwise it seems Munchkin-esque.

Or you just needed to weaken an opponent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
corkysru wrote:
Uneyed wrote:
I can see it playing well if you are playing as a team otherwise it seems Munchkin-esque.

Or you just needed to weaken an opponent.
Especially with frenzy... time that one right and both opponents might wipe each other out.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfonso Zamora
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Calixtus wrote:
So what's the official ruling again? I don't need a piece on the contested hex to use my Energize Cards?

Pag 9 FF rules.
During a battle, any player may play Energize battle cards
– even players who are not involved in the battle. Be sure to
follow the Order of Choosing (see page 7).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ray
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bartok wrote:
Calixtus wrote:
So what's the official ruling again? I don't need a piece on the contested hex to use my Energize Cards?

Pag 9 FF rules.
During a battle, any player may play Energize battle cards
– even players who are not involved in the battle. Be sure to
follow the Order of Choosing (see page 7).


Actually, its on page 8 in a light brown box in the upper right corner.
I missed this the first time because the rules says page 8. whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.