Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Negotiations and ending a war rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Doupe
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under the conditions for ending a war, I don't anything that says two powers that have not exchanged any cities or leaders can agree to peace in the Negotiations phase.
Is this implied, or can two powers only make peace if they have exchanged cities or leader?
For example, could France and the Papacy make peace in the Negotiations phase of Turn 2, if no cities have changed hands and no leaders have been captured?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
Minnetrista
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rob Doupe wrote:
For example, could France and the Papacy make peace in the Negotiations phase of Turn 2, if no cities have changed hands and no leaders have been captured?


Sure. The first bullet point in 9.1 describes how two powers can mutually agree to end a war. No War Winner VPs are handed out, since the end of conflict was sought by both parties.

Section 9.3 about Suing for Peace is for when one power wants to stop fighting and the other doesn't. devil That's when you get into giving War Winner VPs (or card draws) for leaders, keys, and home spaces you want back.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, suing for peace often involves two sides that want to stop fighting - but one was able to extract from the other as a concession that they would sue for peace rather than end the war by agreement.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Hayman
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Not really two parties at all, a Sue for Peace doesn't REQUIRE both sides want to stop fighting.The sueing party grants warwinner status to the party which it wants peace with (ending the war) and only the sued party must have either taken a home territory or captured a leader is the requirement to allow a sue for peace in the first place. It cannot be refused.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mick Hayman wrote:
Not really two parties at all, a Sue for Peace doesn't REQUIRE both sides want to stop fighting.The sueing party grants warwinner status to the party which it wants peace with (ending the war) and only the sued party must have either taken a home territory or captured a leader is the requirement to allow a sue for peace in the first place. It cannot be refused.


Right. But in abstract game terms, both "powers" want to have a peace - peace negotiations never reached a successful conclusion unless the two powers at war agreed on the terms. In game mechanics, this is simulated by "forcing" a power to accept peace, but "in the history books" it would be written that the two sides agreed to a mutual peace.

But you and Greg are saying the same thing, just looking at it from two sides of the game mechanics/abstract simulation coin.

Chris
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.