Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

World at War: Eisenbach Gap» Forums » Rules

Subject: Last Quick Question (about disrupts) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John R
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to 6.1.6, if a unit suffers two hits in combat, instead of being disrupted, it "loses a step instead."

Does this mean that you never have a unit which is both disrupted AND reduced? Not clear...

John
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but not from the one attack, as I understand it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Arnold
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wulf Corbett wrote:
Yes, but not from the one attack, as I understand it.


Actually...you can. A reduced unit is still disrupted, while then another hit would eliminate it. It's possible to "recover" from the disruption while being reduced, but then (if I recall) another hit would simply eliminate the unit.

As I've been playing it:

1 hit: disrupted
2 hits: disrupted and reduced
3 hits: eliminated

if reduced
1 hit: eliminated.

I don't have anything near me at this point to check up my own memory.

edit: To add to my thoughts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John R
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies. The Blood and Bridges makes this much more clear...it reads that a unit can be reduced and disrupted by a two-hit shot. Makes much more sense now.

John
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Rothwell
msg tools
mbmbmb
Wired_Wolf wrote:


As I've been playing it:

1 hit: disrupted
2 hits: disrupted and reduced
3 hits: eliminated

if reduced
1 hit: eliminated.

I don't have anything near me at this point to check up my own memory.

edit: To add to my thoughts.


Agree with the first part - I've been playing the second part thus:

if reduced (in an earlier impulse but disruption subsequently lifted)
1 hit: disrupted
2 hits: eliminated
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Arnold
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rothy wrote:
Wired_Wolf wrote:


As I've been playing it:

1 hit: disrupted
2 hits: disrupted and reduced
3 hits: eliminated

if reduced
1 hit: eliminated.

I don't have anything near me at this point to check up my own memory.

edit: To add to my thoughts.


Agree with the first part - I've been playing the second part thus:

if reduced (in an earlier impulse but disruption subsequently lifted)
1 hit: disrupted
2 hits: eliminated


I'll agree with that, makes more sense. The handful of games I've played "reduced" units never make it long enough to "survive" the first attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Walker
United States
Henry
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
'65 Squad Level Combat in Vietnam. On Kickstarter!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Full Strength NOT Disrupted.
1 hit: Disrupts.
2 Hits: Disrupts and Reduces.
3 Hits: Kills.

Full Strength Disrupted.
1 Hit: Reduces.
2 Hits: Kills.

Already Reduced:
Is NOT Disrupted..
1 hit: Disrupts
2 Hits: Disrupts and Kills.

Already Reduced AND DISRUPTED:
1 Hit: Kills.

It's a logical progression. Basically, you must be disrupted before you can take a step loss. Tell us how the game goes!

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Arnold
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mark Holt Walker wrote:

2 Hits: Disrupts and Kills.



I'd call that redundant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Walker
United States
Henry
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
'65 Squad Level Combat in Vietnam. On Kickstarter!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just deadly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.