Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Chaos in the Old World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Any word on the FAQ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's been months since FFG "sent the FAQ to IT to upload" - any word?

I still have no idea how you use pre-battle (Blood Frenzy/Bloodletter Upgrade) dice during the main phase, nor whether the same rule applies to Upgraded Plaguebearer hits from the pre-battle phase.

I have to say, summoning a figure into the same location surprised the heck out of me. It's consistent with the text but seems pretty gamey.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Stude
United States
Farmington Hills
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gamey indeed - I don't think I'd do it just on principle. Looking forward to the FAQ as well...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabian
Switzerland
Bern
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see the problem with it. You can summon a figure wherever you want, doesn't matter where you take it from.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
It doesn't make sense why you couldn't summon a figure to the same place it started. Your still paying the points costs to get any summoning benefits. Anyone that thinks they are losing games to this tactic needs a new strategy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Kolev
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ has been posted months ago, here - http://new.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm...
And I've made a printer-friendly version:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/48178/printer-friendly...
I'm not sure if it answers your questions though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No one is losing games to this tactic, that it negatively affects balance, or that the rules disallow it.

There are 3 potential benefits:
* Passing your turn without placing more figures on the board or altering your deployment or using cards;
* Activating the upgraded Horror's effect; and
* Activating the upgraded the Great Unclean One's effect.

I do think it's textually and thematically unintuitive (movement usually implies something moving) and very uncommon, and thus needs to be mentioned when you're explaining the game. (I reckon it deserved a mention in the rulebook too.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ikolev wrote:
The FAQ has been posted months ago, here - http://new.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm...
And I've made a printer-friendly version:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/48178/printer-friendly...
I'm not sure if it answers your questions though.


brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
has been diligently collating all the ambiguities, inconsistencies and questions since that version, and sending them over to FFG for response. (Thanks Brian!) He received answers via private email and posted them on the forums; FFG told him that they had updated their FAQ with these and sent it to IT to put on the website; I subsequently checked their site daily for several weeks, in vain.

Edit: fixed link.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Kolev
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I thought I was missing something...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Myers
United States
Midlothian
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
The new faq appears to be up now, though I'm not seeing everything I was expecting from Coltsfan's posts.

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/chaos_in_the_o...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Stude
United States
Farmington Hills
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nice, thanks for the heads-up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Silverman
United States
Halfway between Castro and Mickey Mouse
Florida (FL)
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks like there are only 3 new items.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
DJ Kuul A wrote:
Looks like there are only 3 new items.

Read it carefully as some of the answers may be updated. (I haven't read it fully yet but the entry about Sopoforic Musk was definitely updated).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Corn
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
How appropriate. You fight like a cow.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There was a minor update on May 5, 2010 as well (looks like the Nurgle demon upgrade had some additional clarification).

Link: Official FAQ
My printer friendly version: Click
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.