Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Valor & Victory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mortar Attacks on Vehicles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jan
Germany
Cologne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another rule-question from me:

When mortar-attacking a hex containing more than one vehicle (since two is the limit, let's say two, shall we?), is the To-Hit dice-roll (and the following Elimination-Roll) made for each vehicle separately? Common sense says "yes", but 12.67 in the rules isn't clear about that.

Edit:
Ah, forget it... when AT-attacking you have to pick a unit to attack. Didn't catch that. Can't I just delete this topic?
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
z hm
China
flag msg tools
no,I don't shink so.I think I should roll in a hit versus every vehicle.
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Doyle
United States
Lynchburg
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
z hm is correct; you should roll for each vehicle. I'll add a short clarification.

Good grief... it's amazing, after all this time, that even a simple set of rules will sometimes require changes or clarifications. That's another reason games, and particularly wargames (IMHO), should remain simple!
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Germany
Cologne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, my question was stupid, since I haven't read the later AT-attack paragraphs, which answered it.

Since 16.1 says: AT fire affects a single target unit.

... and 16.3 says: The attacking player declares which unit is conducting an AT attack, and the target unit of the attack.

... I think it's clear that two vehicles - even when on the same hex - require two AT-attacks... right? Of course, the mortar-paragraph comes before that, so I guess it could be added to the mortar-rules as well, just to avoid confusion.
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AnglePark wrote:
That's another reason games, and particularly wargames (IMHO), should remain simple!


HERE HERE!
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Doyle
United States
Lynchburg
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Laserschwert wrote:
Yeah, my question was stupid, since I haven't read the later AT-attack paragraphs, which answered it.

Since 16.1 says: AT fire affects a single target unit.

... and 16.3 says: The attacking player declares which unit is conducting an AT attack, and the target unit of the attack.

... I think it's clear that two vehicles - even when on the same hex - require two AT-attacks... right? Of course, the mortar-paragraph comes before that, so I guess it could be added to the mortar-rules as well, just to avoid confusion.


For a mortar attack you're not choosing a single target, which is the case in an AT (direct fire versus a single target) attack. It's a "barrage" that may affect all units in the target hex (like an artillery barrage).

If there's a mix of infantry and vehicles, conduct the mortar attack versus the infantry using its APFP rating, then roll to see if it is effective versus the vehicles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Germany
Cologne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, I see... so my question wasn't so stupid after all :p
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Doyle
United States
Lynchburg
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, not at all.

I consider all questions good ones, because there may be others asking themselves the same thing.

Unless you're asking when I'll be adding zombies and werewolves to the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Germany
Cologne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mmmmmmmh...

... about those werewolves... uhm... whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Doyle
United States
Lynchburg
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, there will be no werewolves or zombies in V&V. There may be little green men from Mars, though, since we all know they crash landed in New Mexico shortly after WWII...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Germany
Cologne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Awww, too late:



4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.