Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Routed neutrals come Springtime... are they allied if a unit is in the area? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Jenkinson
United States
Greenwood
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had battled some neutrals in a hex with my elves and killed one and routed the other. When Spring popped up and the routed neutral stood up with my elves still there... is he considered allied? Or am I supposed to battle/attempt diplomacy?

Couldn't find this question anywhere else... thanks :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S R
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 21 of the rule book
"Units that were just routed during this battle may retreat (this is an exception to the rule that routed figures may not move)."

If there was no place for the neutrals to retreat then they would have been destroyed
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Burgess
United States
Kansas City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At the end of the battle your army had the higher strength so you won the battle. The losing party in a battle must retreat. In this case the player to the left that was (or should have been according to the rules) controlling the neutral units should have selected an adjacent uncontrolled area for the units to move to. If there are no adjacent uncontrolled areas then the neutral units are destroyed. In your example the neutral unit should not have allied with you. See page 21 for battle steps, including battle resolution, page 22 for retreat rules, and page 15 for the definition of an uncontrolled area.

Hope this helps!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Jenkinson
United States
Greenwood
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, missed the battle resolution rule about the losing players retreating. Up to that point battles were all or nothing, where one side had no survivors. Thanks for the help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Sanders
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Along this same line of questioning. When neutrals retreat to an adjacent area can they move to an area containing other neutral units of a different type, or does the area that they are retreating to have to be neutrals of the same type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Burgess
United States
Kansas City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kryth wrote:
Along this same line of questioning. When neutrals retreat to an adjacent area can they move to an area containing other neutral units of a same type, or does the area that they are retreating to have to be uncontrolled.


An uncontrolled area is simply an area that is not controlled by another player (remembering that home areas and areas with strongholds are controlled areas, even if there are no units there). An uncontrolled area may contain cities or neutral units. It is up to the player controlling the neutral units as to which area the neutral units retreat to, if there is a choice (say between an area that is completely empty and an area that already has a neutral unit). Different types of neutral units can be combined together in the same area, they are all of the same neutral "faction".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, they can retreat to where other neutrals are. That can give you a nice group of Neutrals to try for if you can pull it off later
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.