The rules state:
1. Roll the dice. Place the house/hotel
die aside. Roll all of the remaining dice.
Then do the following, depending on what
dice you rolled:
Completing a Property
You complete a property by filling all of
the squares in a solid color group. After
completing a property, add the house/hotel
die to the remaining dice the next time you
It doesn't say to roll the house/hotel die for all your remaining rolls during the turn. It indicates that you only get to roll it once.
The House/Hotel Die
Roll this die after completing a property,
to try to "buy" houses or a hotel. Do the
following, depending on what you rolled:
Ok, how many times do you get to roll this die? We had interpreted it as only once after getting a complete color group...which means you could never get 4 houses and a hotel...so that was wrong.
House: Take a house and keep
it in front of you. If there are no
houses left to buy, you’re out
So, if during your turn you get a complete color and you get to keep rolling the house die each roll during your turn, and there are 4 houses, how can you possibly run out of houses so there would be no houses left to buy?
Also, it never says that you give the houses back unless you role a broken house.
Finally, if you are lucky enought to get 4 houses and earn $4,000 and then get the hotel...do you add the $5,000 for the hotel to the $4,000 for the 4 houses for a total of $9,000 or is the $5,000 the total gained by having 4 houses and a hotel?