Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Campaign Manager 2008» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discard question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
david karasick
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have the card that states you can play its effect by discarding 2 cards, and you have one or none in your hand to discard,,,,,,,,,can you still play the card? My feeling is that you cannot play the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
matt feldman
United States
Maple Valley
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the rules state that you can't play such a card without having the required cards to toss.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Beukema
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As discussed in this thread (specifically question 2), if you are forced to play a card that requires discards you don't have, you can play the card, but its effects will not be triggered.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fbeukema wrote:
As discussed in this thread (specifically question 2), if you are forced to play a card that requires discards you don't have, you can play the card, but its effects will not be triggered.


That's not the way I understand it. I get that you cannot play such a card unless you are forced to by another card, in which case it is played without effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Beukema
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
QBert80 wrote:
fbeukema wrote:
As discussed in this thread (specifically question 2), if you are forced to play a card that requires discards you don't have, you can play the card, but its effects will not be triggered.


That's not the way I understand it. I get that you cannot play such a card unless you are forced to by another card, in which case it is played without effect.


The distinction is the force. If you just have a Discard 2 "Going Negative" card in your hand, there's nothing preventing you from drawing for your turn, and you can't play the card at a discount. You cannot play the card.

But if an Oprah/Arnold or Audacity of Hope gives you and then forces you to play a card that you can't "pay for," you have to play it, without effect. I see now that I misread the original poster's question and brought in an unrelated situation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Creighton
United States
Decatur
IL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since we have gotten off the topic of the OP...if you do play a going negative card as a discard without taking the effect...do you still have to roll the die? The card was played, but the power was not used.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.