Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Flames of War: The World War II Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification of Moving rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randy
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi.
If I rotate a vehicle but it otherwise stays in place, does that vehicle count as having moved? I know that you're allowed a free rotation AFTER movement, but does rotation by itself constitute a move?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Defevers
United States
Fort Thomas
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It depends.

If you rotate a team during the Movement Step, then yes, it counts as having moved. Even if all it did was rotate. Even if all it did was rotate its turret.

If, however, you rotate an otherwise stationary team (or its turret) to face its target during the Shooting Step (as, of course, you are required by rule to do), it does not count has having moved.

Edit: It's a little bit of a bloated mess, but here's a link to the latest FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greywing wrote:
It depends.

If you rotate a team during the Movement Step, then yes, it counts as having moved. Even if all it did was rotate. Even if all it did was rotate its turret.

If, however, you rotate an otherwise stationary team (or its turret) to face its target during the Shooting Step (as, of course, you are required by rule to do), it does not count has having moved.

Edit: It's a little bit of a bloated mess, but here's a link to the latest FAQ.


The big difference between these two cases is that you can only rotate a team within its firing arc. Other factors, such as slow traverse, could also play a part in the rotate (or rotate turret) done in the shooting step.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great. That's a big help.
Thank you, gents.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.