Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Axis & Allies: 1942» Forums » News

Subject: FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ has been posted on Larry Harris's site.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hayes
Canada
Niagara Falls
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Submarines
Q. Can a defending submarine submerge before an attacking sub fires on it?
A. Yes. The decision whether to submerge is made before any dice are rolled, and the submerging subs are removed from the battle immediately. Of course, if the attacker has a destroyer, the defending sub may not submerge at all.

I really really disagree with this rule. Subs are not like other defending units, as they have the ability to retreat, however the attacking sub ( assuming no destroyers are present ) has a sneak attack ability.

Personally I think that the Rule should be:
The decision whether to submerge is made before one's own dice are rolled. This way when a sub attacks another sub it fires for it's hits first then any surviving subs can fight, submerge or retreat.

No destroyer present means that a sub gets it's sneak attack. How many out there agree? In initial set up sub on sub action in the Pacific with the Japanese and UK subs was one of our favorite scrums, this rule makes it a no go as given the opportunity who would roll a 1 vs. a 2? you almost always retreat.

Let me know what you guys think.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think this discussion belongs in the rules forum, not here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hayes
Canada
Niagara Falls
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I shall cut and paste, apologies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.