Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Haps units in Germany during S-League rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike R
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
If the Schmalkaldic League is formed, and the Hapsburgs have units in Protestant home spaces under Protestant religious influence, do those units stay where they are, or get moved to a space that's staying under Hapsburg political control? Nothing in the rules says they have to move, so I'm guessing they stay put, but since Protestant units do get displaced I thought I'd double-check.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They stay put. But remember that prior to the S-League no unit can move into the electorate spaces.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hapsburg units stay. When the League forms, the only Protestant military units are those in Electorates. Its possible for an Electorate to go Protestant and then back to Catholic, so there could be Protestant troops in a Hapsburg Electorate immediately after the League forms- and they are then moved. But, as the guy said, there can't be Hapsburg troops in Protestant electorates at that point. Hapsburg troops in Protestant unfortified spaces raise no difficulty so can stay.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike R
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
marticabre wrote:
They stay put. But remember that prior to the S-League no unit can move into the electorate spaces.


Right, these could only be non-electorate spaces. Thanks for the help, guys.

What about the (far less likely) scenario where someone else has units there? Say France has allied with the Hapsburgs, and as part of the deal agrees to move a couple troops into Germany to help slow the Reformation. France is neither at war nor allied with the Protestants, so ordinarily their units couldn't occupy Protestant-controlled spaces.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Seoul
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
SoliDeoGloria wrote:
marticabre wrote:
They stay put. But remember that prior to the S-League no unit can move into the electorate spaces.


Right, these could only be non-electorate spaces. Thanks for the help, guys.

What about the (far less likely) scenario where someone else has units there? Say France has allied with the Hapsburgs, and as part of the deal agrees to move a couple troops into Germany to help slow the Reformation. France is neither at war nor allied with the Protestants, so ordinarily their units couldn't occupy Protestant-controlled spaces.


As you said, they can't be there, so they must be displaced.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lesouef
France
Ermont
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
marticabre wrote:
But remember that prior to the S-League no unit can move into the electorate spaces.


Where is it saying in the rules?
You can't move units into or through an electorate during Winter Phase.
But you can move units into an electorate during action phase!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lesouef
France
Ermont
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh sorry, you're right. It's not possible.... blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.