Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sherwood 925
United States
Concord
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario: Hedgerow Hell (with pre-assembly)

Intro: I played two initial sessions of HH on no-frills black-and-white office paper. These were test sessions. I was a complete newbie to hex-and-counter wargaming and didn't want to invest a lot into the unknown. Plus, I reasoned, it'd be like watching those pre-Technicolor war films. The Longest Day, yeah!

Turned out I liked the game. But I still wasn't sold on giving it the full-on crafting treatment. What changed was realizing how assembly can be such a blast and add richness to a game. For example, the Pirates and Star Wars Pocket Model games are light fare, but assembling the game pieces (and their detailing) are the games' true genius. Okay, the practical reason: My flimsy paper chits would fly off the board whenever taking deep breaths during game deliberation.

The War Effort: Disclosure; I probably wouldn't have done this if my wife and I weren't pre-disposed to crafting and already had the resources to work with. I followed madDog67's suggestion for using chipboard. I already had the other main ingredients: sticker paper, a rotary cutting board, and a quality printer.

Chipboard is ubiquitous in packaging and paper products, but I wanted to minimize its gray-brown surface. I found sheets of white illustrator board at the office store and thought it was an appropriate color for pinned units. (I later found black illustrator board at the art/crafts store. I might use that for non-infantry.) The illustrator board is 1/16-inch heavy-duty goodness.