France
flag msg tools
badge
My avatar is from the chilren's game Monster Mash
mbmbmbmbmb

(photo by Traulen)

Previously entitled: "You shall not pass!"

Disclaimer

Ok, just so you know where I come from and how the review will go. I'll start by an introduction so you know how I came to know the game and what my expectations of it were, then a little summary of how the game plays and what it looks like, you can skip that part if you're already familiar with it and the rules as I won't go much into detail here. I'll finish by my own opinion and my rating of the game. After that, I'll summarize what my playing group feels about the game.

About me, I started playing and fell in love with heavy games (Serenissima and Caylus). I began to play lighter games later like Odin's Ravens and Kahuna. I like mostly all types of games though I like when these are tense. I also usually don't like heavily luck-dependent games.
My favourites are Through The Ages, Race For The Galaxy, Imperial, Caylus, Dungeon Twister, Monster Mash.
Games I didn't like: Pillars of the Earth, Mykerinos, Caylus Magna Carta, Aton.

Introduction

Back when I didn't have many short 2 player games, I came accross Shazamm! thanks to trictrac (french main gaming website) as the game is a lot more famous in the french community than it is on the geek.

I bought it not long after RFTG and at the same time than Dungeon Twister. I was really looking forward to this game, specially the bluff aspect of it since me and my friends were all big poker fans. I was however a bit concerned that the game would turn out to be a fancy rock-paper-scissors variant. Let's see what my take on that is after 10 plays, shall we?

What is the game about

Shazamm! puts two players in the role of sorcerers that happen to want to cross the same bridge at the same time. Since both sorcerers are too full of themselves to let the other pass, they battle it out.