BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Can someone explain Euro and Ameritrash? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A T
United States
California
flag msg tools
I'm new to this concept. I tried looking up the origins but not sure what keywords to tag.

Can anyone explain what Euro really means and where it came from? (from my searches, it was something to do with Germany?...I think) And what is Ameritrash? And how did this term originate or what is its significance?

Thank you. Your newbie bgg member. Cheers
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon
United States
Christiansburg
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Play more Inis
mbmbmbmbmb
Per Urban DIctionary:

Ameritrash is port-manteau of "American trash" meant as a pejorative towards a genre of American boardgames. In general, this connotes games that highly emphasize theme (i.e. story, background, motivation, etc), player to player conflict, and usually feature a moderate to high element of luck.

Popular examples would include pretty much anything by Fantasy Flight games, Risk, Last Night on Earth, Heroscape, Space Hulk, etc.

In contrast, European style games usually highlight a game's mechanics over theme. They usually have much less luck-driven play, commonly forgoing dice completely. Its given the name simply because a vast majority of games made by European developers share these common traits. Agricola, Puerto Rico, Power Grid, Settlers of Catan would be popular examples.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Zehnal
United States
Granville
Ohio
flag msg tools
Raising money to end cancer because those with cancer have better things to do.
badge
I gotta get in shape. Too much sitting has ruined my body.
mbmbmbmbmb
Euro games usually have multiple paths to victory and rarely knock a player out completely. One of the early successful ones introduced to the USA market was Settlers of Catan.