Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Agricola: Farmers of the Moor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Agricultural Implement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Agricultural Implement reads:
"Whenever you use a Person to take the "Plow Fields" action, you can take a Special action card immediately afterwards, as long as it has not already been used twice. (The Special action card costs 0 or 2 Food, as usual.)"

But this doesn't reference the Solo game at all! What happens if you use the sologame action of paying 2 Food to keep the SA card in play?

I don't think you can use the SA again, since you can't use "retake" the card yourself in a multiplayer game, but I wanted to ask.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to be sure we are on the same page: In solo, when you use a special action, you can also pay 2 food once to treat it as still active, allowing you to either use it again that round, leave it out for the next round, or return it to the bottom of the special action deck at the end of the round so it can potentially return in a later round.

The agricultural implement as you quote it provides benefit by letting its owner take two actions at once -- the plow fields action and a special action. This provides an advantage for the owner over opponents. In solo, there is no competion for taking actions, so it seems to provide no benefit in solo.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dlewis2 wrote:
Just to be sure we are on the same page: In solo, when you use a special action, you can also pay 2 food once to treat it as still active, allowing you to either use it again that round, leave it out for the next round, or return it to the bottom of the special action deck at the end of the round so it can potentially return in a later round.

The agricultural implement as you quote it provides benefit by letting its owner take two actions at once -- the plow fields action and a special action. This provides an advantage for the owner over opponents. In solo, there is no competion for taking actions, so it seems to provide no benefit in solo.


Wait, but that means with Coal Seam, you can infinitely spam the 3p HF action and get infinite fuel (and infinite clay with the Loam). Is that really intended in Solo? Or are you not allowed to use the same SA after you use it once?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zeroth hour wrote:
dlewis2 wrote:
Just to be sure we are on the same page: In solo, when you use a special action, you can also pay 2 food once to treat it as still active, allowing you to either use it again that round, leave it out for the next round, or return it to the bottom of the special action deck at the end of the round so it can potentially return in a later round.

The agricultural implement as you quote it provides benefit by letting its owner take two actions at once -- the plow fields action and a special action. This provides an advantage for the owner over opponents. In solo, there is no competion for taking actions, so it seems to provide no benefit in solo.


Wait, but that means with Coal Seam, you can infinitely spam the 3p HF action and get infinite fuel (and infinite clay with the Loam). Is that really intended in Solo? Or are you not allowed to use the same SA after you use it once?


In solo, the most you can use any special action card in a round is twice (after paying the 2 food to keep it active). After that, it is removed from the game. The only exception is the last special action card, which also can only be used twice each round (after paying the 2 food), but it becomes available again in all following rounds.

(I don't have the coal seam or loam in front of me to remember what they say.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dlewis2 wrote:
zeroth hour wrote:
dlewis2 wrote:
Just to be sure we are on the same page: In solo, when you use a special action, you can also pay 2 food once to treat it as still active, allowing you to either use it again that round, leave it out for the next round, or return it to the bottom of the special action deck at the end of the round so it can potentially return in a later round.

The agricultural implement as you quote it provides benefit by letting its owner take two actions at once -- the plow fields action and a special action. This provides an advantage for the owner over opponents. In solo, there is no competion for taking actions, so it seems to provide no benefit in solo.


Wait, but that means with Coal Seam, you can infinitely spam the 3p HF action and get infinite fuel (and infinite clay with the Loam). Is that really intended in Solo? Or are you not allowed to use the same SA after you use it once?


In solo, the most you can use any special action card in a round is twice (after paying the 2 food to keep it active). After that, it is removed from the game. The only exception is the last special action card, which also can only be used twice each round (after paying the 2 food), but it becomes available again in all following rounds.

(I don't have the coal seam or loam in front of me to remember what they say.)


Whoops, forgot to read the "Once each Round" when paying 2 food to keep the card. Coal Seam and Loam both trigger on the Hiring Fair action and give 1 Fuel and 1 Clay respectively (Loam requires you to only have 1 person in the house when doing it).

Anyways, that makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.