Runewars» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Why Runewars was not what i expected (2 players) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KC
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, im new to this whole 'reviewing' thing, so im warning you, theres not much structure to this, its just me waffling on about my thoughts about Runewars. Its also got very condensed 'session reports' in the middle which i added to help explain why Runewars isnt what i expected (but if you want to skip them, just go to the very end) Im also not going to waffle on about the rules here though. Go read the instruction manual. Its only 40pages

There was a lot of umming and arring over whether to fork out the large ammount of money required to buy this huge game which barely fits in my closet and that i probably wouldnt have the time or energy to setup/play and pack away the game on a regular basis.
Im also normally a player with a REALLY short attention span. Its flitting off from one game to the next. I have a uncontrollable urge to buy a game, play once or twice then get totally bored of it.
Runebound however was an exception to this. Its probably the most played game in my collection. I got addicted to smiting razorwings with death runes etc. Alas as with most of my games, im sick to death of it now, but one of the reasons why i wanted to try Runewars was to see if it would revive that spark of glorious excitement i felt everytime i ventured into Terrinoth.

Another reason why i wanted Runewars so badly was because it comes with ONE HUNDRED AND NINETY TWO FIGURES!! Wow total plastic orgy.
With all those figures, i pictured massive battles of epic proportions.
From reading other posts where people said the hero section of the game felt 'tacked on' this also strengthened my view that this game was all about big armies fighting each other, with heroes just as an aside.

Lastly, it seemed people managed to get session times with two players to manageable levels of about 2 hours on this forum.