Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Worm Up!» Forums » Rules

Subject: 5 player... What the value of the X? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mauro fiacco
United Kingdom
cambridge
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In my box I have 5 Worms.... counters: 4,5,6,7 and X.

In a game of 5 player, what is the vale of X?

I do not have the 3! as in the box shown in this forum.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian McCarthy
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
X can be whatever number hasn't been taken, usually the highest one. The person who wins an X always goes last and they get to rotate the finish line, if they wish.

I'm wondering how experienced players of this game feel about 3. It is not in the new edition, but was part of the original, as I understand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Tavener
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
The overtext below is true.
badge
The overtext above is false.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I'm wondering how experienced players of this game feel about 3.

It's a nice round, curvy number. A little like an 8 that has been sliced down the middle, or a 0 that has been opened up. It's also the first odd prime, a triangular number, and part of the Fibonacci sequence.

All in all, pretty cool; I miss it!

More seriously, I haven't actually played the new version. What replaces the 3?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian McCarthy
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3 is just gone. I don't know where it went. Maybe it's gone because it was cheaper to produce without it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Tavener
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
The overtext below is true.
badge
The overtext above is false.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, sounds like these are cardboard chits instead of the die that came with my copy of Wurmeln? Hmmm... sounds like someone is guaranteed to be stuffed each turn in a 5 player game; I think that's a bad thing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Andersen
United States
Athens
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mb
If you bid an x I dont think you always go last. Nowhere in the rules does it say this so I am assuming otherwise. Whoever bids an x would be at too much of a disadvantage and wouldnt have the power of choice. If you bid an x it is the number you choose that determines your order of movement.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geert Vinaskov
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
maurogames wrote:
In my box I have 5 Worms.... counters: 4,5,6,7 and X.

In a game of 5 player, what is the vale of X?


I have the same question.

When playing with 5, and the players choose 4, 5, 6, 7 and X:
No problem for the players that chose 4, 5, 6 or 7. But what about the player that chose X? Which value can he choose - all possible values are already taken?

I play it that when this happens, X cannot move, but he can turn the finish line as normal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.