Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Darken the Skies Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Perry Rogers
United States
Pueblo
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With "Darken the Skies" does your missile unit pick a target and make a single attack against it, and then pick another target-- which may be different from the first target-- and attack that unit, OR does it pick one target and attack it twice? If both attacks must target the same unit, what happens to the second attack if the first attack eliminates, or forces the target to retreat out of range/LoS?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BrentS
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PerryWRogers wrote:
With "Darken the Skies" does your missile unit pick a target and make a single attack against it, and then pick another target-- which may be different from the first target-- and attack that unit, OR does it pick one target and attack it twice? If both attacks must target the same unit, what happens to the second attack if the first attack eliminates, or forces the target to retreat out of range/LoS?


You targets are only limited by range and LOS. You can choose two different targets for your two ranged attacks from a single unit or target a single enemy with both of them.

Brent.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would supplement Brent's answers with:

• You can switch targets. You can roll the dice from an ordered unit and view the results of its first ranged combat before deciding whom to attack with its second ranged combat.

• Remember, you must complete all ranged combat for an ordered unit before conducting ranged combat with another ordered unit.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And no, you can't roll double dice-- you make two distinct attacks. So if the target gets a banner and retreats out of range, maybe your 2nd shot has no target.

(This is a good time to remember what "MAY ignore one flag means...you have a choice. Sometimes taking the retreat is a good thing.

It's also a good time to remember that ALL attacks in CCA are independent of any other attacks and are totally resolved before doing another. So a momentum advance and bonus attack does not have to be against the same unit...and you can freely mingle ranged fire and close combats, in any order you desire. But yes, if one attack destroys or retreats a unit out of range of another attack you were planning, you may end up with nothing to do with some units (which is why picking your sequence of attacks can be so bedeviling).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
StevenE Smooth Sailing...
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kduke wrote:

This is a good time to remember what "MAY ignore one flag means...you have a choice. Sometimes taking the retreat is a good thing.


Discretion is (sometimes) the better part of valor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Perry Rogers
United States
Pueblo
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys.

Very helpful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
there is one point though that needs clarification for me:
do you need to fire twice with the same unit before moving onto the fire of other units, or should you first fire once with each unit, then fire the second time with each unit? or can you freely choose?

the card itself just says that you resolve each fire seperately
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel (working on TENNISmind...)
France
Caen
(from Valencia, Spain)
flag msg tools
designer
My latest game: Big*Bang, a simple abstract about the first minutes of the Universe
badge
My best-rated game: TETRARCHIA, about the tetrarchy that saved Rome
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BradyLS wrote:
Remember, you must complete all ranged combat for an ordered unit before conducting ranged combat with another ordered unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.