Geoff H
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
U.S. 95th Infantry Division - The Iron Men of Metz
mbmbmbmbmb
No, that experienced player is not me. I'm afraid I lose much more often than I win.

Last week I played my friend Mario (mayo66), who is an experienced German DT player. After being totally crushed (losing 5-0 in less than two action card cycles), he sent me this article. It was clear that I had lost the game during the setup and revealing of the rooms. He managed to get my Fireball wand and kill my Banshee within his first 3 or 4 moves. My Colossus soon followed and then it was an easy escape for him to win the game. After reading this article, it became clear what I was doing wrong.

Mario gave me permission to post this article that he wrote. It seems wise advice to me and I hope that it helps me to be a better player. I'm just beginning to understand the importance of the early game and setup. Dungeon Twister is a very unforgiving game. Once you are back on your heels, it is hard to recover. It is crucial to maximize your position early.

The Combat begins with Set-Up by Mayo66

Often Dungeon Twister is lauded because of it’s absence of luck, followed by the qualifier -- as soon as all rooms have been revealed and all characters and objects have been placed. As incontrovertible as this evidence might seem, it implies that the speaker, particularly when he’s a beginner, is concluding that setup is due to mere chance. He is assuming that because no one knows where which rooms will show up, placing counters into the dungeon is of lower importance than the play that comes after. This assumption is entirely wrong!