Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Word Thief» Forums » Rules

Subject: challenging a word rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
evangelina spierto
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
boy, am i glad to have found your website... we have been playing this game all wrong; no wonder we got bored. anyway, your prior posts have answered most of our questions; however, we have a couple of unanswered ones: if a player suspects that a word cannot be found in the dictionary, can it be challenged? what are the consequences for challenging and being wrong or right for the challenger and for the challengee? who has seniority in challenging? the player to the left? if a player cannot make a word and must pass, the rule booklet said to give up 5 points and pick another card. Does that mean a player could have more than 7 cards? thanks for your help.


february 9, 2010
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Owen
United States
Lorton
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We don't know the "official" rules for challenging a word in Word Thief, but because it is so similar in many respects to Scrabble, we adopted the Scrabble challenge rule to WT:

"Any play may be challenged before the next player starts a turn. If the play challenged is unacceptable, the challenged player takes back his/her [cards] and loses that turn (and any score). If the play challenged is acceptable, the challenger loses his/her next turn. All words (not just one) made in one play are challenged simultaneously. If any word is unacceptable, the entire play is unacceptable. Only one turn is lost on any challenge."
(Source: http://www.hasbro.com/scrabble/en_US/faqGameplay.cfm)

Scrabble doesn't give precedence to any player over any other with regard to challenge, but since there is no "benefit" to challenging (only the risk of being wrong), we don't usually have the problem of people clamoring to be the challenger.

As for having to draw a card and lose five points, yes, we interpret that to mean that the player starts his or her next turn with eight cards. (And if he or she is still stuck, he or she pays five points for another card, loses another turn, and starts the next turn with nine cards, etc.) In the case where you start your turn with more than seven cards, you only get the twenty-point bonus for using all your cards (not just seven).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.