Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lawrence Lopez
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am really glad I bought this fantastic game. I've only played without exploration tiles so far. Have any of you played with the exploration tokens? If so, what do you think about them? Play with or without? Why or why not?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played with them yet either, but here's what I think.

PRO : Heroes have more to do to affect the rest of the game.

CON : Clutters the board with more little pieces and the random distribution could strongly favor one player over another.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
I played a couple games without them. Once I started playing WITH them, I wouldn't play it any other way.

Sure, you could have some distribution issues, but due to the number of the tokens and the relative close proximity of the players, I don't think any of them will be gamebreaking.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Betzel
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think playing with is the way to go, especially if you guarantee at least one of the dragon thrones is in the mix. It gives heroes something to do outside of questing and gets people out there searching for that rune. Once it is found that area could easily become a hotbed of activity.

As for the random distribution, I don't think any of the tokens are so overpowering as to cause an imbalance no matter the distribution. They are relatively small bonuses and hindrances but that chance for a rune really makes them valuable.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Sweeney
United States
ABQ
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am thinking with.