Hide
11 Posts

Wings of War: Famous Aces» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is there a reason... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vardon Vardon
msg tools
First of all, I am a newbie and just wanted to say that my family are really enjoying the Wings of War WWI series games. I'm desperately awaiting the release of the RAF SE 5a miniature!

I do have a question though - why is the length of the ruler such a weird length, about 19.4 cm? It doesn't translate into anything in inches either and I can't work out if there is any sensible scaling reason for this odd length - I mean why not just make it an even 20cm?

Anyone have an explanation for this?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just call me Erik
United States
Waldorf
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the reason is that it fits in the box just about perfectly at that length. The box is probably 20cm when closed.

Of course, that's just a guess.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
unixrevolution wrote:
I think the reason is that it fits in the box just about perfectly at that length. The box is probably 20cm when closed.

Of course, that's just a guess.

Sounds like a reasonable explanation.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For future editions, it may be a good idea to print a scale on the back of the ruler, because some scenario information is given in centimeters instead of ruler lengths.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think most scenario information would be many ruler lengths and they are just figuring most people have a tape measure or something marked in centimeters.

Even for non-metric Americans, we can conjure roughly 2.5 cm to the inch and work it out. A scenario layout only really needs to be an approximation, anyway.