Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dungeon Lords» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Combat - Excess Damage to next adventurer in line? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
colin darra
Wales
LINCOLN
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can't find this explicitly referenced in the rule.

I know that if "Fatigue" kills the first adventurer in line any excess fatigue is then taken by the next adventure in line.

Is the same true of Damage inflicted by Monsters?

Intuitively I think not, but last night in my first full game this situation arose, we had a quick scan of the rules, couldn't find anything specific, so we made a decision and ruled that the damage excess does flow onto the next adventurer.

in hindsight, I think this was the wrong decision, does anyone know the correct intention? Is there are ruling elsewhere on this that I have missed?

ColD
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.it's al applied to the specific character(s) targetted.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Finch
United Kingdom
Woking
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rulebook about Standard Attacks:

"All the damage is applied to the first
adventurer even if it is more than enough to eliminate him."

And for Attack Anyone:

"This is like a standard attack except you get to choose the target."

Thus, excess damage is just that - excess.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
colin darra
Wales
LINCOLN
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys that's definitive enough for me
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Alexander
United States
Saline
MI
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just as a reminder on the same note, if you are handing out more than 1 fatigue, and the first fatigue kills the first adventurer, the 2nd fatigue will carry over to the next adventurer.

-D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcus Lau
Malaysia
Petaling jaya
Selangor
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
coldark wrote:
Can't find this explicitly referenced in the rule.

I know that if "Fatigue" kills the first adventurer in line any excess fatigue is then taken by the next adventure in line.

Is the same true of Damage inflicted by Monsters?

ColD


Playing it like this would make the Goblin's ability (2 damage to the first adventurer and 1 damage to the next if the first one dies) quite redundant. Who needs to hire the Goblin when all your other monsters are Goblins 2.0. Heck, the Ogre is broken! Feed him food and he will pound a total of 5 damage which can be carried over.

If I remember correctly, I think the designer mentioned somewhere that if an adventurer is dealt lethal damage, the additional damage doesn't transfer over.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
colin darra
Wales
LINCOLN
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yep Marcus,

as already stated two posts above yours it is detailed in the rules.

I must say, what we did on that first play didnt seem right, I just couldnt find it quickly in the rules, so rather than labour the rule search i just let it go.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.