Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Silent War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flipping Chits for Tactical Rating rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Blake Phillips
United States
Montague
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When flipping chits during the attack phase - up to your sub's tactical rating... does revealing a plane chit count against the number you can flip? I have been playing it as 'no' and still flipping up to the tactical rating not counting the plane - thinking thematically the plane is covering the convoy but not part of the ships that you are lining up and running the numbers on. Am I wrong?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Defevers
United States
Fort Thomas
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see anything in 14.12 that supports that interpretation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Phillips
United States
Montague
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yea - me either really. Have you seen this come up in any other discussions?

Greywing wrote:
I don't see anything in 14.12 that supports that interpretation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Defevers
United States
Fort Thomas
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, I don't recall ever seeing that particular issue ever come up. I also checked the FAQ, and I don't see any mention of it there.

For what it's worth (not much), the only circumstance that I'm aware of where you flip a counter and it "doesn't count" against the number you're required to flip is the radar rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Phillips
United States
Montague
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes - agreed - figured it was worth asking to see if it had come up before. Thematically it made sense to my brain (late night for the last few days anyway) to handle that situation the other way.

Can you 'unflip' them due to radar after 42 (flip one back over if you don't want to deal with it) - as you can do with any other chit such as destroyers? My guess would be 'yes' if they are treated no differently then other surface contacts.

PS - The internet's least read gaming blog... love that lol... I'll be checking in on your blog. Patton's Best is a good game... I do a lot of solo gaming and own a ton of them. Never have managed to get Carrier to the table though - would love to... I feel about that one like you describe Fields of Fire... when i am in the mood for a long project. Fields of Fire is an excellent game by the way - like nothing else have ever played solo... dive in my friend.

Greywing wrote:
No, I don't recall ever seeing that particular issue ever come up. I also checked the FAQ, and I don't see any mention of it there.

For what it's worth (not much), the only circumstance that I'm aware of where you flip a counter and it "doesn't count" against the number you're required to flip is the radar rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Defevers
United States
Fort Thomas
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's '43 for the radar, and the rule specifically prohibits "unflipping" aircraft (and Combat Events and Diligent Escorts). Radar is magic; it is not that magic.

Thanks for the comments on the blog! As far as I know, you're the first person other than me to ever lay eyes on it. Have a smiley:
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Phillips
United States
Montague
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yea - I know on the 43... I said after 42 which to me at the time meant 43. I missed the 'specifically prohibits "unflipping" aircraft' though aware of Combat Events and Diligent Escorts. OCD will force me to go find that rule. Thanks.

UPDATE: Yep - there it is clear as day: "...unless it is a Combat Event, Diligent Escort, or an Aircraft." Doh.

Greywing wrote:
It's '43 for the radar, and the rule specifically prohibits "unflipping" aircraft (and Combat Events and Diligent Escorts). Radar is magic; it is not that magic.

Thanks for the comments on the blog! As far as I know, you're the first person other than me to ever lay eyes on it. Have a smiley:
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Duensing
United States
Bartlett
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yaboo wrote:
When flipping chits during the attack phase - up to your sub's tactical rating... does revealing a plane chit count against the number you can flip? I have been playing it as 'no' and still flipping up to the tactical rating not counting the plane - thinking thematically the plane is covering the convoy but not part of the ships that you are lining up and running the numbers on. Am I wrong?


The way I think of it, the sub encounters some "thing" (aircraft, contact, etc). You can't un-encounter or un-find something. I'm pretty sure the plane chit counts against the sub's tactical rating.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Phillips
United States
Montague
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes - you are correct...as noted above. My thinking was - as of 43 on - that radar was in use. It was reasonable to think about radar detected planes as well as surface vessels - but the rules are clear - I just missed it - and I have not read any navel history in awhile and can't remember the capabilities of radar at that point in time. I am sure the rules are accurate to history though as it is a meticulously researched game. I never did unflip a plane... just revealed one more chit than I should have i.e one more then the subs tactical rating a few times. Looking at my ships/tonnage sunk - it certainly didn't help me.

LibertyToad wrote:
Yaboo wrote:
When flipping chits during the attack phase - up to your sub's tactical rating... does revealing a plane chit count against the number you can flip? I have been playing it as 'no' and still flipping up to the tactical rating not counting the plane - thinking thematically the plane is covering the convoy but not part of the ships that you are lining up and running the numbers on. Am I wrong?


The way I think of it, the sub encounters some "thing" (aircraft, contact, etc). You can't un-encounter or un-find something. I'm pretty sure the plane chit counts against the sub's tactical rating.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.