Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dane Barrett
New Zealand
Henderson
Auckland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Firstly I should mention, I don't really have any issue with "clogging" in the game. For those who haven't read about it, clogging is when the Dungeon Hall is full of low (or zero) scoring monsters and none of the players want to take the risk of killing one in case they reveal a higher scoring monster for someone else to take.

It also happens when the Thunderstone is in the hall and none of the players want to kill the monsters in front of it in case they inadvertently give away 3 victory points to an opponent.

Now I'm no game designer, so this idea may ending up breaking a bunch of other game mechanics for all I know. But I thought I'd throw it out there for those of you who are a bit smarter about game design than I am. Also I apologize if this variant has already been proposed by someone else amongst the plethora of rules threads.

My proposal is forcing a player to take an action each turn.

Currently when you Visit the Dungeon you are required to attack a monster. This is good. The only time this falls apart is when card actions prevent you from attacking any of the monsters.

Currently when you Visit the Village, you MAY purchase a card, and you MAY level up a hero. I propose that one (or both if you so desire) of these actions MUST be performed if you choose to visit the village. If you cannot do one, then you must choose to either Visit the Dungeon or Rest this turn.

Currently when you Rest you MAY destroy one card from your hand. I propose that if you choose to rest you MUST destroy a card from your hand.

By making these changes I would hope that the following would happen:

* Players would have a harder time skipping a turn, as if they are forced to purchase more cards from the village they will choke up their deck, and if they rest a lot they would eventually get into the situation that they might be forced to destroy valuable cards.