Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Maori» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discovering Tiles & getting shells rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
...
badge
...
Avatar
Two rules questions (where the official English rules seem incomplete):

1. When taking a tile, you can pay 0/1/2/3 shells to get the tile 0/1/2/3 spaces from the edge where the boat is. Near the end of the game, you can run out of tiles and you then leave spaces in the matrix. Does a space count when buying a tile - in other words: are we counting spaces from the edge or tiles from the edge? If there's a space in the matrix, do tiles after the space cost less than when the matrix is full?

2. The rules say that you take shells from the supply when taking a tile and placing it on your board. The "getting shells" bit is mentioned only under the action "take one tile from the matrix and place it on his board". What happens if you take the tile and place it in your storage - do you get the shells when you take the tile, when you (later) place the tile from your storage onto your board or maybe you don't ever get the shells? I'd assume you get the shells only when the tile goes onto your board, but I might be wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Johnson
United States
Azusa
California
flag msg tools
One of Alabama 3's finest songs, especially the versions on the single this image is from...
badge
Sweet Pretty M*th*rf*ck*ng Country Acid House Music - All night long!
Avatar
If you're running out of tiles, it's at the very end of a five-player game, at least 2 players have tiles in storage, and everyone has otherwise full boards; this is unlikely to happen, unless people are specifically *trying* to do it. (Discarding could also trigger this, but again, that supposes *everyone* is actively discarding to keep their level of tiles in play the same; unlikely to happen with competent play.)

A strict reading of the rules shows that you pay for *tiles* skipped, so just don't count the empty spaces.

The text on shells is clear; you get them when you place the tile on the board.

The only question is whether you get the shells for placing tiles that have been in storage. It would have been nice if they'd repeated the text from the earlier section, but since they didn't do that, the text seems to be a general statement about what happens when tiles are put on the board, rather than something tied to immediate placing of a tile. YMMV.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
...
badge
...
Avatar
Thanks Chris - this matches our assumptions.

Sometimes we fret a little when something isn't explicit - especially when the rules were originally in a foreign language.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.