Subject: Taking the plunge . . . at some point, anyway rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Knowles
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I graduated from Ticket to Ride to Memoir '44 and now I'm thinking of diving into the big, scary world of hex and counter wargames (though I don't have the money to shell out for another game right now) Where should I start . . . whenever I actually can?

I'm thinking one of the International Games Series might work well. Those seem to be games in the vein of the classic hex and counter type, yet they don't seem overly complex and difficult at the same time. I actually downloaded the VASSAL module for A Victory Lost and started toying around with that a bit after reading the rules through. I think I'm getting the hang of it (or at least the hang of the few phases of the first turn that I've worked through so far). Am I on the right track, or should I look elsewhere?

My chief interest in military history is the American Civil War (naturally, since I'm also a reenactor of that time period). However, reading How the North Won got me thinking that I'd really like to read up on military history from other eras, of which World War II is one. That book gave me at least a little bit of knowledge of basic military strategy (interior lines, lines of supply, etc.) that I think could be used in other wargames. It's just that when I look at some of the ACW games here, they seem like they're stepping it up in complexity just a tad bit more than I think I might be ready for.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabian
Switzerland
Bern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am not well read on the subject, so take this with many grains of salt, but have you checked out Conflict of Heroes? It's the one I've been looking into for this very same purpose.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Christopher
United States
Salem
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge