Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: combat_resolution [+] [View All]
Chris Strabala
United States
Hiawatha
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
With a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm relatively new to the concept of wargaming. I play light wargames such as Axis & Allies, Memoir '44, & Risk. I am curious as to why dice are so hated by a large majority of wargamers? Why is randomness such a bad thing? In what other ways is the chaos/confusion of warfare recreated? Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clark Rodeffer
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Where is this from? I don't know any wargamers who hate dice as a matter of course.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Vrabel
United Kingdom
Cambridge
UK
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
They don't.

It's the eurogamers who hate dice rolling, not the wargamers.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M St
Australia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
You're missing the point. Virtually all wargames have randomness and use dice and wargamers are fine with that. It's not the dice that are hated by some people, but what some people consider an excessive amount of dice to obtain effects that on average can be obtained in a much less dice-heavy fashion.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Wargamers have a love-hate relationship to dice.

Every too often they spoil the best plans.

But sometimes also they beat incredible odds.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb