Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Axis & Allies Pacific 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does USA collect money before purchase? help again rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glen w
Canada
flag msg tools
Gotta another ? Does the USA recieve its addiotional 40 IPC's once JApan attacks or declares war on allies before its purchase units stage the first turn after JApans aggression or does it collect the additional 40IPC's during the collect income stage of the USA first turn after JApans declaration ow war against allies. THe rule s state that USA collects 40$ immediatly after war is declared on allies by japan, as this 40$ is not national objective but is 100% related to USA generated income not sure wether USA gets to use 40 bucks immediatly to purchase units that first purchase units stage after japans attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Patching
United Kingdom
Newport, Wales
flag msg tools
badge
If you notice this notice you wil notice that this notice was not worth noticing
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I understand it is that the IPC value of just the United States Space increases by 40 once it goes to war. It doesn't gain 40 IPCs in hand, but next time it collects money it'll take into account the massive jump in value of the United States space.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Ozimek
Denmark
Aalborg
flag msg tools
badge
Must resist M:tG. Boardgames are my methadone :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The US bonus income for being at war is a National Objective style income. It is treated like all other NO bonus income which means:

1 It is collected during the Collect Income phase. As such you do not gain the 40 IPCs "immediately" when war is declared. You can collect it on turn 1, if Japan attacks on the first turn, but only AFTER you have purchased units for that turn. At the latest (if Japan hasn't declared war by then) you will be collecting it at the end of the 3rd turn, meaning you can spend it in turn 4.

2 Japan does NOT get the extra 40 IPCs for controlling the Western US. IMO it should never have been printed on the map, as that only causes confusion.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rus kosits
United States
California
flag msg tools
the bonus 40 IPC has been explained as a national objective, so it is collected during the income phase, and does not modify the actual 10 IPC value of the territory. The 50 misprint is especially confusing when considering convoy attacks, as 10+2 is the maximum IPC income deduction that the USA can suffer on the west coast.

Japan taking over entire map (except the western US) and parking a 25 ship armada off the west coast, the US income would be 40
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glen w
Canada
flag msg tools
Thanxs fella's I understood the money was recieved during collect income stage but the US player tried to swing the ruling in his favor of collecting money prior to purchases as it states in Rule book that US collects Income Immediatly after War has been declared
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It says that the US's income is immediately increased, not that the US immediately collects income. Anyway, the politics rules have been replaced in the errata.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.