Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Command range clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A a
msg tools
Me and my friends are arguing about the range of the command ability.
The problem comes from the "itself". One is arguing that it was there for the damage, and one is arguing it was there for the damage and the range.
The rule state.
Quote:
Command
A figure with Command adds 1 to the damage and
range of all attacks made by friendly figures within three
spaces of it (including itself, and ignoring line of sight).


One is saying that we must start counting the range from the figure spot, so we would say "1" on the master beastmen.
The other persion is saying we must start counting from the next spot. So we would count "1" on the first square next to him.

Which scenario is the right one. I'm making a small picture to help understand.

0=open space
X=creature with command
F=friendly creature receiving bonus.
Scenario 1
00F
000
X00

Scenario 2
000F
0000
0000
X000
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario 2. That's how range is counted for everything in Descent.

Besides, if it had said "within one space of it," would you really argue that it only affected allies in the exact same square?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everyone I know counts "1" starting with the space(s) immediately adjacent to the figure with Command (scenario 2).

"Within three spaces" as described in scenario 1 would be a special case that contradicts its traditional English meaning, and that ain't proper.

Edit: too slow!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "including itself" does not refer to the counting of the range of effect.
It refers to the fact that the ability applies to the figure itself as well as to friendly figures within 3 spaces around it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeaup, scenario 2. The figure's own square is range 0.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.